Chocolate Chip Cookies – Only Half What I Expected

During the mid semester break (last week) I went back home to mummy and daddy’s to sponge off them for a bit and, while bored, I turned to baking to keep me entertained.

The first thing I made was a batch of White Chocolate Mudcake Cupcakes with White Chocolate Ganache and Milk Chocolate Curls for decoration but, although the mudcake was delicious and had the proper mudcake texture, they sank in the middle while they were baking. 😦 I think it’s because my brother opened the oven even after I told him not to.

Anyway, this post isn’t about the mudcake cupcakes that were full of fail, but more about the Chocolate Chip Cookies I tried next…..that were a partial failure. That’s right, a partial failure. Everyone seemed to enjoy them (everyone being my boyfriend or someone in my immediate family so they might be biased and/or lying) but I swear I did something wrong.

For starters the recipe said to ‘drop the dough onto a greased baking sheet’. Have you got that? Drop it. from a tablespoon. My dough was so crumbly that if I’d done that it would have just flown everywhere. And second, the recipe said it makes 32 but I only got about 12 before I gave up and ate the rest out of the bowl with a spoon. Mmm. Delicious. I did look at how much was left before I began my spoon assisted assault on it and I think I could have only got about 4 more out of it. Max. So what’s that? 16? That’s nowhere near 32! In fact, that’s half of 32. I must have stuffed up somewhere. Anyway, I got the recipe from here: Thin, Crisp, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies but for those of you who are too lazy to click on a link, I’ll write it up for you too. Aren’t I nice?

Thin, Crisp, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

1/2 cup of firmly packed brown sugar

1/3 cup of granulated sugar

3 tablespoons of water

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence ( If you really like vanilla, like me, just add more)

1 cup of all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon of baking soda

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of chocolate chips

1/2 cup of chopped pecans (optional) (I left these out)

Method:

1. In a bowl, with an electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until well blended. Beat in the water and the vanilla until smooth.

2. In another bowl, sift together flour, baking soda and salt.

3. Stir into butter mixture until well incorporated and add chocolate chips (and pecans). (I decided to make these quite late at night and we didn’t have any chocolate chips so I smashed a block of Cadbury Dairy Milk up with a rolling pin and used that instead. It was a good decision.)

4. Drop dough in one tablespoon portions, two inches apart onto greased baking sheets.

5. Bake in a 150C (300F) oven for about 14 minutes, until the edges of the cookies are browned but the centre is still pale.

6. Transfer cookies to wire racks to cool.

All in all these cookies were rather good…even though the dough refused to give me all the cookies I deserved. The cookies were crispy around the edges but wonderfully and deliciously soft and chewy in the middle. I think I’ll be trying them again some day. Who knows, maybe I’ll get my 32 cookies next time?

April 29, 2008. Tags: , , , . Baking, Chocolate Chip, Cookies.

One Comment

  1. Cobie Vaughn replied:

    that looks sooooooooooooooo good im ready to jump through the computer

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

