Chocolate Chilli Cupcakes

I apologise for the lack of cupcake pictures but my food photography skillsChilli Powder are pretty much non existent and every single picture I took of them was blurry and badly lit. So instead you get a picture of some chilli powder on a plate that I found in Google Image Search. Anyway, these cakes turned out pretty well considering I had to come up with a substitute for some of the ingredients. The chocolate cakes were moist with the chilli powder adding a weird sort of warmth to them. The chilli powder definitely added something to the cakes and it wasn’t overpowering, although my brother thought it was but he’s 12 and pretty useless when it comes to eating anything with any sort of spice in it. These really aren’t bad.

The original recipe came from here: Mayan Chocolate Cupcakes from Flickr user sugar-bliss gnome. But since I had to modify it slightly I’ll write it up here too with the changes made to it.

Chocolate Chilli Cupcakes

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons of instant coffee granules

1/2 cup of hot water

100g Dark Chocolate (I used Cadbury Old Gold which is 70% Cocoa Solids)

100g Milk Chocolate

8 tablespoons of butter

2 teaspoons of cinnamon powder

3 teaspoons of chilli powder

3 tablespoons of cocoa powder

2 cups of plain flour

1 teaspoon of baking soda

2 cups of sugar

2 eggs

1/2 a cup of heavy cream (I discovered I had no cream so I used this as a substitute)

1/2 teaspoon of white vinegar

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

1/2 cup of canola or vegetable oil

1/2 cup of water

Method:

1. Brew the coffee granules in the hot water and leave to cool.

2. Melt the Dark and Milk Chocolate in a double boiler with the butter, one teaspoon of chilli powder and one teaspoon of cinnamon powder until just melted and combined.

3. Once melted add the cocoa powder and stir until smooth. Let cool.

4. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, the baking soda and the remaining chilli and cinnamon powder.

5. In another bowl, whisk together the sugar, eggs, cream, vinegar, vanilla, oil, and water.

6. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and stir in the chocolate mixture and the cooled coffee.

7. Fill the liners about 2/3 full and bake at 180C (350F) for about 20 minutes.

The batter does tend to stick to the paper liners like sugar-bliss gnome says but it’s not too bad. since I was out of cream I couldn’t do the whipped cream topping so I made a dark chocolate ganache and sprinkled dark and milk chocolate shavings on the top. This topping was alright but I think the cream would be better. I’ll definitely make sure I have cream on hand next time I make these. 🙂

April 30, 2008. Baking, Chilli, Chocolate, Cupcakes.

One Comment

  1. zusy replied:

    What an adorable cake! I’m so impressed.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

