Savoury Muffins

One of the many problems that come with being a poor university student is that it can be incredibly hard to find cheap things for lunch that aren’t instant noodles (and believe me, I’ve had enough instant noodles recently to last me a lifetime), so I decided to bake some savoury muffins that we could eat for lunch over the coming week. I got my cookbooks out and searched for a suitable muffin recipe but, to my surprise, there wasn’t one. Yeah. After dithering for a while, I pulled myself together and adapted a recipe for cheese, bacon and creamed corn muffins that I found in the Edmonds Food for Flatters cookbook.

Cheese and Onion Muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups of plain flour

5 tsps of baking powder

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups of milk

salt and pepper to taste

200g of grated cheese

1 large onion (chopped)

Method

1. Grease muffin tins.

2. In a large bowl, sift together the flour and the baking powder.

3. Make a well in the centre, and add the eggs, milk, salt and pepper.

4. Mix until just combined.

5. Stir in cheese and onion.

6. Fill the muffin tins about 3/4 full.

7. Bake at 190c for about 20 minutes.

Variation: Ham and Cheese

Use 200g of chopped ham instead of the onion.

These are actually really good and stuffed full of….stuff. šŸ™‚

May 11, 2008. Tags: , , , , . Baking, Cheese, Ham, Muffins, Onion, Savoury.

2 Comments

  1. katinkyoto replied:

    Mmm. Thanks for the recipe. I love savoury muffins.

  2. Trev replied:

    Just made this recipe and they are delicious. I was fortunate enough not be be flatting and have a herb garden. A handful of chopped parsley and chives were added pls the ham and onions.
    Next time I will pull a carrot and microwave it to soften and partly cook it – then dice it up and add it to the mixture for some extra colour and taste.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

